I am working my way through the Moral Letters to Lucilius (AKA Letters from a Stoic) I highly recommend you check it out too. I thought I would summarize what I’ve read and while I’m at it I’ll share my summaries and reflections with you.

In my summaries I may quote directly or paraphrase,  so far I’ve very much enjoyed the readings. I am trying to read the book over a year long period.

Moral Letters to Lucilius

Letter 1: On Saving Time

Summary: Time is a precious commodity that is often stolen from us, but we also tend to let it slip away. We could fit a lot more life into our lifetime by being mindful of this and not letting it slip by.  We are dying each day, death already owns all of our past, take advantage of what is left.  We allow cheap things, TV, etc. to steal our precious time away.  If you are going to waste time, at least be able to account for it, know how and why it was wasted. Don’t to try to save time at the end of life “it is too late to spare when you’ve reached the dregs of the cask”.

Reflection: This is a good reason to implement daily mindfulness and to live an active life. An active life spent doing (I include reading in this category if done mindfully but not most passive forms of entertainment) hobbies, thoughtful conversation, charity etc. This active life is the opposite of a passive one in which one lets society dictate what they think and do… T.V. addiction, watching sports, drinking for no purpose, over socializing, over sleeping.

 

 

Image: By I, Calidius, CC BY-SA 3.0, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=2456052

Leave a Reply

